The First Ten: Guardians of the Galaxy

No Comments

It's been a while, folks. But welcome back to the First Ten. This is a recurring series in which I look at the first ten issues of a comic book series to see how it found its footing.

One of my first installments in this series was for the Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning series Nova, and today we're discussing its sister book by the same team. But this one had a much greater impact.

The series spun out of the Annihilation Conquest event, specifically its tie-in miniseries about Quasar and Star-Lord. It's also responsible for forming the Guardians team that would go on to be in the feature film. Rocket, Drax, Gamora, Groot, Star-Lord, and Mantis all joined the Guardians for the first time during this run. The team was previously composed of a completely different group of characters.

This series ran a total of 25 issues, beginning in July 2008 and ending in June 2010. It crossed over somewhat heavily with the various Marvel cosmic events and went on to inspire a major motion picture.

So let's get into it.

Next »
Previous Post
Marvel Gods vs. DC Gods: Who's More Powerful?
Next Post
A History of Thanos' Embarrassing Defeats
[Find Us On Facebook]

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

We use Google Tag Manager to monitor our traffic and to help us AB test new features.

Decline all Services
Accept all Services